Zayed Future Energy Prize Invites Entries to 10th Year

The 10th Anniversary edition of the Zayed Future Energy Prize is open for entries, it was announced earlier today. Submissions from eligible entrants are invited in the Small & Medium Enterprise, Non-Profit Organisation and Global High Schools categories, while the Large Corporation and Lifetime Achievement categories are open to nominations from the public. Entries will close on 6th July 2017.

President of the UAE His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan has declared 2017 as the nation’s‘Year of Giving’, which coincides with the 10th Anniversary of the Zayed Future Energy Prize. Established to honour Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan’s legacy of environmental stewardship and sustainability, and having positively impacted the lives of more than 289 million people to date, the prize embodies the UAEs spirit of giving and expands it toa global scale.


Director of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, Dr Nawal Al-Hosany commented: “In January 2018 we celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Zayed Future Energy Prize. Since its inception, the Prize has continuously recognised and empowered those striving to deliver a sustainable future for all – hence the extraordinary impact we have seen over the previous nine years.”


Mr.  Ratan Tata, Chairman Emeritus of Tata Sons and member of the Zayed Future Energy Prize Jury, said: “This has been another outstanding year for the Zayed Future Energy Prize.  The record number of submissions is a testament to its growing reach. This is made all the more impressive by the diversity of those that apply to be part of this global community.”


In 2016 alone, the prize received a record 1,676 entries from 103 different nations, a 22 per cent increase on the previous record set the year before. The US$4 million prize that empowers and rewards innovators in the fields of renewable energy and sustainability has now far recognised 57 individuals and organizations since its inception in 2008. There have been a combined total of more than 10,000 nominations and submissions across more than 100 countries worldwide.

At the 2017 awards ceremony, Li Junfeng, Director General of China’s National Center of Climate Strategy Research, won the Lifetime Achievement Award for his unwavering commitment to the adoption of renewable energy in China. General Electric (GE) won the Large Corporation Award for leadership in the wind and solar energy markets. Sonnen, was awarded the prize in the Small and Medium Enterprise (SME) category for leadership in providing battery storage technology solutions. In the Non-Profit Organisation (NPO) category, UK-based Practical Action was recognised for its work in providing deprived communities with clean energy across the globe.


The five winners in the Global High Schools category are: Starehe Girls’ Center, Kenya for the Africa region; Green School Bali, Indonesia for the Asia region; Bolivia’s Unidad Educativa Sagrado Corazón 4 for the Americas; Belvedere College in Ireland for Europe; and Huonville High School, Tasmania for the Oceania region.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s